Home Backtrack

Tryout Information

Pre-participation Forms

There are 2 forms that are mandated by the FHSAA before a student may participate/try-out for a school sponsored sport.  Those forms are:

  1. Pre-Participation Physical Evaluation (EL2)
  2. Consent and Release from Liability Certificate (EL3)

Follow the Athletics menu under athletic participation forms or click the link below

https://www.spchs.org/athletics/athletic-participation-forms/

 

The FHSAA also requires that all student athletes complete an online course titled "Concussion in Sports". The free course is offered at the National Federation of State High School Associations' education website, https://nfhslearn.com/courses

The athlete will have to create an account, select the course "Concussion in Sports" and print out the certificate of completion. This course is mandatory for all FHSAA member school athletes and must be completed before the first day of your sport's practice. The certificate of completion can either be turned in to your sport's coach or to the athletic office. 

Free Sports Physicals

St. Petersburg Catholic’s team physician, Dr. Michael Reilly, is again offering our student-athletes the opportunity to obtain free sports physicals.  Dr. Reilly is a Family Medicine physician, a 1968 SPC/Bishop Barry graduate, and the team physician for the Tampa Bay Rays.

  • The following dates have been reserved for our athletes:

         July 27th, August 3rd, August 10th, and August 17th

FALL SPORTS TRY-OUTS INFO

Our sports teams are getting ready for the new school year.  High school athletics is a great opportunity to make lasting friendships, learn the values of teamwork, and the spirit to overcome adversity.  I want to encourage all of our students to participate on one or more of our athletic teams.  Below are the practice/try-out schedules for our fall sports:

 

Baronettes Dance Team

August 1-5 and August 8 from 1:30-3:00 in the SPC gym

For more information please contact Coach Tabatha Conza- tconza@spchs.org 

 

Bowling

Try-outs/Practice TBA at Seminole Lanes, 8668 Park Blvd N

For more information please contact Coach Mike Crosby- mcrosby@spchs.org

 

Cheer

August 1-5 and August 8 from 1:30-3:00 in the SPC gym

For more information please contact Coach Blair Gil- bgil@spchs.org

 

Cross Country -

Try-outs/practice TBA on the SPC track

For more information please contact Coach Yacine Zerdoum – yzerdoum@spchs.org

 

Football 

Try-outs/practice begins July 31st on the SPC football field

For more information please contact Coach Jay Davis- jdavis@spchs.org 

 

Golf

Try-outs dates August 2nd and 4th beginning at 3:30

at Bardmoor Golf and Tennis Club, 8001 Cumberland Road, Largo 33777

For more information please contact Coach Tim Moore – tmoore@spchs.org 

 

Swimming and Diving

Diving will begin July 31st at 4:00

All practices will be held at Walter Fuller pool

Swimming will try-outs/practice will be Aug7-11 4:00-5:00

For more information please contact Swim Coach Jenn Verser – jverser@spchs.org or Dive Coach Bill Walker – bwalker@spchs.org

 

Volleyball

Try-outs are August 2nd and 3rd  from 5:00-7:00 in the SPC gym

Practices will be Mon-Thur each week 5:00-7:00 pm

For more information please contact Head Coach Lauren Bley – lbley@spchs.org

 

The FHSAA has mandated 2 forms for all parents to fill out in order for your student/athlete to participate in HS  athletics EL2 and EL3.   Both of these forms can be downloaded and printed out from the "athletic participation forms" tab

These forms must be completed and turned in before any athlete can participate!